In Tibet, there are actually two principal traditions of the Six Yogas, one attributed to Naropa and the other to Niguma.

The Six Yogas of Niguma were transmitted in a vision directly through the female yogini Sukha Siddhi to the Tibetan poet and scholar-practitioner Khyungpo Nenjor, founder of the Shangpa Kagyu school or “Transmission of the Oral Teaching of Shang Valley”.

These teachings are the direct realization of the Buddha Vajradhara.

Tummo, for the automatic flaring of inner heat as bliss.

The yoga of the illusory body.
Illusory body, for the automatic release of attraction and repulsion. Main emphasize of the Six Yogas.

Dream yoga
Dream yoga, for the automatic purification of the deceptive appearances of daytime

Clear light
Clear light, for the automatic clearing of naivety. According to Kagyu School, the clear light is the most subtle, profound, and powerful level of consciousness. Indeed, it is the fundamental nature of the mind itself, whose appearance is said to be like the sky’s own natural cast at dawn before sunrise, its brilliance radiating everywhere in all directions. This mind of radiant clear light is indestructible and untainted by the emotional and psychological confusions that perpetuate the ongoing cycle of birth and death (samsara). We are told that the clear light is experienced briefly by all human beings at the very first moment of death, by advanced yogic practitioners in the highest states of meditation, and unceasingly by all Buddhas. Interestingly enough, this very subtle radiance is said also to be experienced, though rarely noticed, in more mundane moments, such as fainting, sneezing, and orgasm, as well as in the first instant before and after dreaming. However, only at the moment of death is the conscious and unwavering realization of the clear light tantamount to the achievement of Buddhahood.

Transference of consciousness
Transference of consciousness, for Buddhahood without having meditated

Bardo, for the Sambhogakaya of a Triumphant One. Three intermediate periods, or bardo states: the transitional periods between birth and death (Bardo of Ordinary Life), between falling asleep and waking (Bardo of Dreams), and between death and the next life (Bardo of Becoming). A unique feature of the Six Yogas tradition is that it offers a set of meditative techniques for mastering each of these three states. The most powerful of such practices, however, is the yoga of dying, which is meant to be exercised in the first moment of the bardo between death and rebirth (Bardo of Becoming).

Before you start practicing “The Six Yogas” you require to have an empowerment and oral transmission of teachings from an experienced teacher.